William L. Steude Ethics and Civility in Local Government Award

The William L. Steude Award was established to honor individuals for significant and tangible achievement in the field of local government ethics and civility. 

Nominees should be an official or employee of a member municipality of the Michigan Municipal League, a member of the Michigan Association of Municipal Attorneys, or other person associated with local government. 

Selection of recipients is made by the Awards Committee comprised of the Board of Directors of the Michigan Association of Municipal Attorneys and the president and the executive director of the Michigan Municipal League. 

The award is dedicated to the memory of William L. Steude, former general counsel of the Michigan Municipal League and good friend of the Michigan Association of Municipal Attorneys.

Award Winners

2012 Ronald D. Keefe, City Attorney, Marquette

2011 Don M. Schmidt, Miller Canfield, Kalamazoo

2008 Philip A. Balkema, City Attorney, Grand Rapids

2008 John M. Barr, City Attorney, Ypsilanti

2007 George M. Elworth, Assistant Attorney General, State of Michigan

2005 Charles R. McKone, City Attorney, Linden

2004 Daniel C. Matson, City Attorney, DeWitt and Village Attorney, Fowler

2003 Dennis E. McGinty, City Attorney, East Lansing

2002 Cheryl C. Farmer, Mayor, Ypsilanti

John E. Beras and Don M. Schmidt Receiving the Distinguished Municipal Attorney AwardMAMA Distinguished Attorney Award

The Distinguished Municipal Attorney Award was established to honor municipal attorneys who have reached the highest level of professional accomplishment, in the representation of cities or villages and contribution to other municipal attorneys through participation in and service to professional organizations such as the Michigan Association of Municipal Attorneys (MAMA) and the International Municipal Lawyers Association (IMLA).

Award Winners


Mark E. Nettleton, Village Attorney, Middleville


William (Bill) B. Beach, City Attorney, Milan, Rockwood
Timothy J. Currier, City Attorney, Birmingham
Debra A. Walling, Corporation Counsel, Dearborn

Gregory T. Stremers, City Attorney, City of Brown City

Thomas R. Schultz, City Attorney, Farmington Hills
Jeffrey V. H. Sluggett, Village Attorney, Nashville
Sue A. Jeffers, Associate General Counsel, MML

John (Jack) E. Beras, City Attorney, Southfield (deceased)
Don M. Schmidt, Miller Canfield Paddock and Stone PLC (Kalamazoo) 

Daniel C. Matson, City Attorney, DeWitt

James O. Branson, III, City Attorney, Midland
J. Anthony Sykora, City Attorney, Deckerville 

Carol A. Rosati, Johnson, Rosati, LaBarge, Aseltyne & Field PC 

Philip A. Balkema, City Attorney, Grand Rapids
Richard J. Figura, City Attorney, Swartz Creek
Burton R. Shifman, City Attorney, Oak Park

Allan Grossman, City Attorney, Saline

John Rae, City Attorney, Midland

Peter A. Letzmann, City Attorney, Troy

John M. Barr, City Attorney, Ypsilanti

William C. Hultgren, City Attorney, Dearborn
Milton Firestone, Assistant Attorney General (deceased)

R. Bruce Laidlaw, City Attorney, Ann Arbor 
Oliver J. Golden, City Attorney, Monroe (deceased)
Thomas O'Toole, City Attorney, Muskegon (deceased)

Paul O'Reilly, City Attorney, Sterling Heights (deceased)

Harry Tatigian, City Attorney, Livonia

Richard Bringer, City Attorney, Coldwater (deceased)

Louis C. Andrews, Jr., MML Staff Attorney (deceased)

Dean G. Beier, City Attorney, Birmingham (deceased)

Louis C. Andrews, Jr., MML Staff Attorney (deceased)
Gordon Cunningham, City Attorney, Holland

Proclamation of Excellence


Bill McConico, Former City Attorney, Highland Park

Award of Excellence in Municipal Law and Governance


Ed Zelenak
Richard A. Wendt 

Proclamation of Excellence


Ronald D. Keefe  

Proclamation of Distinguished Service


Keith Wallace